PhysioHealth Swift Carbon Cycling Team Finishes NRS Season on High

physiohealth-logo-standardSwift Carbon logo The PhysioHealth Swift Carbon Cycling Team continued its run of great results in the 100th edition of the 275 km Melbourne to Warrnambool, Australia’s most prestigious one day classic. The team representing PhysioHealth Swift Carbon included Jason Lea, Callum Douglas, Morgan Smith, Sam Fuhrmeister, Mitch Dedman Ben McIntosh and Peter Casey. The strategy for the race was for Sam, Mitch and Peter to be aggressive early and to have a presence in the day’s break, leaving Jason, Callum, Morgan and Ben to hold back until Camperdown to give themselves the best opportunity for a top 10 overall result. The massive field of close to 300 riders set off from the Eagle Stadium in Werribee under a rising sun at 7.30am with many of the non NRS riders under the misapprehension that it would be a bunch ride down to “Warrny”. This illusion didn’t last long with mechanical problems while the race was still under control and a hard first hour of racing once the flag was dropped. The16 intermediate sprints and five hill climbs kept plenty of interest in the “race within the race” and mechanicals, together with several crashes resulted in a “War of Attrition.” The higher ranked riders and teams were keen to control the race and unlike previous years there were no early break aways establish. Mitch followed every attempt to establish a break in the first 50 km without success. At this point, when a truce was called for a “nature break”, Tyson Chambers (African Wildlife Safaris) led a group that established a lead of up to 16 minutes and didn’t get caught until the 260 km mark. The group also included Edward White, Sam Hill (GPM Stulz), Nicholas Scoullari (Seight Cycling Team) and our own Peter Casey. Ed White won both the Sprints and Mountains Championship, scoring enough points to edge out Samuel Hill (GPM Stulz) who was consoled by victory in the Victorian 200km Championship, in which Peter Casey ran 3rd. As the 10km mark loomed closer the peloton had basically caught all breakaways and there were an estimated 80 riders still in with a chance of victory. The two leading teams in the NRS Championship, Charter Mason Giant and Avanti were like hawks watching each other as well as every other main challenger. The mass sprint was won by Budget Forklift’s Scott Sunderland putting his track sprinting skills to expert use, followed by SASI rider Alex Edmonson and Search 2 Retain’s Oliver Kent Spark Third. Jason Lea and Callum Gordon ran 10th & 2nd in U23 and 11th & 3rd U23 respectively. Peter Casey and Morgan Smith also finished comfortably in the lead group, meaning we ran 3rd in the team’s classification. Mitch and Sam finished in the second group, finding it too hard to get over the Camperdown climbs after a lot of early work and unfortunately Ben McIntosh was involved in a nasty fall and could not make it to the finish. Brief results – Lakes Oil Melbourne to Warrnambool Cycling Classic 1 Scott Sunderland (BFL) 2 Alex Edmondson (SAS) 3 Oliver Kent-Spark (STR) B Grade 1 Ian Johnston 2 Marc Loecherer 3 Stephen Fairless C Grade 1 Paul Scouller 2 Sam Edwards 3 Haydn Kavanagh D Grade 1 Wayne Hildred 2 Scott Wells 3 David Williams Women 1 Lauretta Hanson 2 Miranda Griffiths 3 Chloe McIntosh
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.